Mansfield Melancon
drink-driving-808790_1280.jpg

DWI/DUI Defense

 

 

 
 
DUI.png

DWI Defense

 

Louisiana DWI Criminal Defense Lawyers

Experienced Louisiana DWI Lawyers Fighting for Your Rights

Louisiana is known for its food, music, and year-round festivals.  Whether you live in Louisiana or here for vacation, places like downtown New Orleans, Baton Rouge, and Lafayette, can be a lot of fun.  However, when it comes to driving while intoxicated (“DWI”), the police in Louisiana take DWIs very seriously. 

If you are arrested for a DWI, do not hesitate to contact the lawyers at Mansfield Melancon.  Both Scott and Collin have prior law enforcement experience, and the law enforcement training that they received is an invaluable benefit to defending your DWI case.  Brad also has valuable experience prosecuting DWI arrests for the city of Baton Rouge.  The experienced DWI lawyers at Mansfield Melancon understand the laws and procedures behind a DWI arrest, and they will fight for you and your rights. 

Louisiana DWI Penalties

A DWI conviction can be very serious, even if it is just your first one.  The punishment ranges based on whether this is your first, second, or third DWI offense. 

If this is your first DWI offense (Misdemeanor), you could be facing the following penalties: 

  • Up to six months in jail and a fine of $300 - $1000
  • 30+ hours of community service
  • Court-approved substance abuse program and driver improvement program
  • Suspension of driver’s license
  • Probation

If this is your second DWI offense (Misdemeanor), you could be facing the following penalties: 

  • Minimum fine of $750 to $1000
  • Up to six months in jail 
  • 240+ hours of community service
  • Court-approved substance abuse program and driver improvement program
  • Suspension of driver’s license
  • Probation

If this is your third DWI offense (Felony), you could be facing the following penalties:

  • Minimum fine of $2000
  • Up to five years in jail
  • The government can seize and sell your vehicle
  • Drug diversion probation program
  • 240+ hours of community service
  • Substance abuse evaluation and treatment
  • Ignition interlock device on your vehicle
  • Probation

If this is your fourth or subsequent offense (Felony), you could be facing the following penalties:

  • Minimum fine of $5000
  • Up to thirty years in jail (two years must be served without the benefit of parole)
  • The government can seize and sell your vehicle
  • Drug diversion probation program
  • 320+ hours of community service
  • Substance abuse evaluation and treatment
  • Home incarceration program
  • Ignition interlock device on your vehicle
  • Probation 

Defenses Against DWI:

As your DWI lawyers, we can aggressively employ a number of defenses to help your case.  Here are a few examples: 

Improper Stop:

A cop must have reasonable suspicion that you are an impaired driver to make a traffic stop.  If the cop improperly stops you, then your lawyers can file a Motion to Suppress to ask the Court to exclude evidence from the traffic stop. 

Improper BAC Test:

When a cop administers a BAC test, he must follow specific procedures.  If the cop does not follow certain rules then the results of the test may be inaccurate, and your lawyers may be able to exclude the evidence in Court through a Motion to Suppress. 

Inaccurate Field Sobriety Test:

If you get pulled over for suspicion of DWI, a cop will likely administer a Field Sobriety Test.  The Field Sobriety Test include three standardized tests: Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus, Walk & Turn, and One Leg Stand.  If the cop has not been properly trained in these tests or has administered them improperly, your DWI lawyers may argue that the Field Sobriety Test results were inaccurate.   

Motion to Suppress

A Motion to Suppress evidence is a request by your lawyer that the Court exclude certain evidence against you from trial – making it much harder to prosecute your case.  It is a tool your lawyer can use to help defend your DWI case when a cop violated your rights or illegally obtained evidence.     

When Should I Call a Lawyer?

If you are in need of reliable legal advice on how to proceed after a DWI arrest, contact Mansfield Melancon immediately to make sure your rights and interests are being protected.  It is important that your constitutional rights are protected. It is equally important to have a team of skilled lawyers who will provide the personalized attention your case requires and deserves. You can reach us at our New Orleans number at 504-500-1108, Baton Rouge number at 225-612-0800, Lafayette number at 337-409-0003, or you can contact us online.  You can also send us an email with questions about your claim at info@mansfieldmelancon.com.

 

Contact Us For a Free Consultation